Home » Awards » Award Nominations

Award Nominations

Local (CEHA) Awards

Deadline to nominate has been extended to August 19, 2016

National Awards

Local (CEHA) Awards


Milton M. Miller Award

Milton M. Miller was a Public Health Service Officer in the 1930’s and 1940’s. He specialized in dairy plant inspections and dairy pasteurization operations. He developed the model dairy code for the state of Colorado.

After WWII, he went to work for Denver University, where he established a school for sanitary science training. During his tenure at Denver University Mr. Miller was heavily involved with the Colorado Environmental Health Association (CEHA), at that time called the Rocky Mountain Section of the National Association of Sanitarians and the National Association of Sanitarians. Mr. Miller was CEHA’s fourth president, 1950-1951. He organized the first ever Annual Educational Conference held at Denver University in 1954.

Mr. Miller was Editor of the Journal of Environmental health in the 50’s, at that time called the Sanitarian which was published by the National Association of Sanitarians now called NEHA. Mr. Miller also served on the NEHA Board of Directors as the Region Vice President in the 50’s. His long and distinguished career was recognized by NEHA. He received their highest honor, the Walter S. Mangold Award in 1957.

CEHA, in recognition of Milton Miller’s high standard of excellence, leadership, organization and dedication to the Environmental Health profession and CEHA, awards this high honor annually to an individual in a management position.

To view the nomination requirements click here: Milton M. Miller Award Criteria

Submit a Miller Award Nomination

Environmental Achievement Award — EH Professional

This award is given to an Environmental Health (EH) professional working within the field of Environmental Health, but is not employed in an administrative position. Recipients must be a member of CEHA and will be selected on the basis of their professional, helpful and courteous service working with the public and fellow professionals, and whose service brings credibility and respect to the field of Environmental Health.

To view the nomination requirements for an EH Professional click here: Environmental Achievement Award Requirements

Submit an Environmental Achievement Award (EH Professional) Nomination

Environmental Achievement Award — Industry

This award can be presented to an industry, company or organization representative who has made a significant contribution to the field of Environmental Health. To view the nomination requirements for an an industry, company or organization representative, click here: Environmental Achievement Award (Industry) Requirements

Submit an Environmental Achievement Award (Industry) Nomination

Environmental Health Innovation Award

An Environmental Health Innovation Award is presented to a CEHA member or organization for creating a new idea, practice, or product that has had a positive impact on improving the environment/public health and quality of life. The purpose of this award to to recognize individuals or teams who have made an innovative contribution to improving the environment and/or protecting public health to encourage other professionals to search for creative solutions. Change that promotes or improves the environment and public health is the foundation for this award.

Submit an Environmental Health Innovation Award Nomination

National Awards

Walter S. Mangold Award

The Walter S. Mangold Award, which was established in 1955, was first awarded to Walter Mangold in 1956 for his lifetime dedication to upgrading the professional education and performance of sanitarians; to raising the standards of the environmental health practitioner, and professionalizing the individual, throughout the country; and for innovating his many brilliant programs that helped shape the environmental health profession throughout the world. Now, more than fifty-five years later, the Mangold Award continues to recognize individuals for outstanding contributions to the advancement of the environmental health professional.

CEHA Sustaining Members